Northeast Berks Chamber of Commerce Announces Four Scholarship Awards to Kutztown University Students


KUTZTOWN, Pa. – (January 11, 2021) – Four Kutztown University students have been named recipients of the Northeast Berks Chamber of Commerce Scholarship Fund:  Katelyn Wehr, a marketing major who also owns her own wedding and event planning business; Melinda Gerlach, a management major; Alyssa Romoho, an accounting, economics and finance major; and Jessica Hallowell, an accounting major.  Each student will receive $250.

Created in 2018, this scholarship provides recognition and financial assistance to outstanding undergraduate students enrolled at KU who also have graduated from one of the four Northeast Berks Chamber school districts: Brandywine, Fleetwood, Hamburg, and Kutztown.  Each scholarship is awarded for one academic year. Recipients may reapply and may be awarded for funds from the Scholarship for up to three academic years.

To be considered eligible, an applicant must meet three additional criteria:  pursuing a major in KU’s College of Business; sophomore standing or above; and a 3.5 GPA.   Recipients are selected by the Kutztown University Office of Financial Aid with recommendations by the College of Business and Dean Anne Carroll.  The Kutztown University Foundation, led by Executive Director, Alex Ogeka, manages the Fund for the Chamber.  All partners are members of the Chamber.

A strong partnership between the Northeast Berks Chamber, regional school districts, and Kutztown University was the impetus to establish the Scholarship Program.  The Chamber Board of Directors and staff were the first donors.  Since then, members have supported the Fund through personal donations and by bidding on items at two event auctions.  Partial proceeds from these auctions especially grew the Fund.

Copyright © 2022 Kutztown University Foundation